University of California, Riverside

Eaton Science Fiction Conference

Related Events

 Related Events

2013 Science Fiction Studies Symposium
SF Media(tions)

Room: Spanish Art Gallery at the Mission Inn Hotel & Spa
Thursday, April 11, 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

This year's symposium is open to registered conference attendees only.

Featuring the Following Speakers:

  • Mark Bould, University of the West of England
  • Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr., DePauw University
  • Vivian Sobchack, University of California, Los Angeles

The 2013 Symposium will be held on April 11, 2013 at the Historic Mission Inn & Spa.

Mark Bould is Reader in Film and Literature at the University of the West of England and co-editor of the journal Science Fiction Film and Television. His books include The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction (2009), Fifty Key Figures in Science Fiction (Routledge, 2009), Red Planets: Marxism and Science Fiction (Wesleyan UP, 2009), The Routledge Concise History of Science Fiction (2011), and Science Fiction: The Routledge Film Guidebook (2012).

Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr. is Professor of English at DePauw University. He is the author of The Seven Beauties of Science Fiction (Wesleyan UP, 2008) and Till We Have Interfaces: Science Fiction and Posthumanist Culture (forthcoming from Liverpool UP). A senior editor of Science Fiction Studies for over twenty years, he is also one of the founding editors of Humanimalia, an online journal of human/animal interface studies.

Vivian Sobchack is Professor Emeritus of Film, Television, and Digital Media at UCLA and was the 2012 recipient of the Society for Cinema Studies' Distinguished Career Award. She is the author of Screening Space: The American Science Fiction Film (Rutgers UP, 1997 [1987]), The Address of the Eye: A Phenomenology of Film Experience (Princeton UP, 1992), Carnal Thoughts: Embodiment and Moving Image Culture (U of California P, 2004) and editor of Meta-Morphing: Visual Transformation and the Culture of Quick Change (U of Minnesota P, 2000).

Science Fiction Poetry Association reading

Room: Salon A
Friday, April 12, 6:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Eaton/SFRA Conference Special Event

Room: University of California, Riverside Culver Center
Friday, April 12, 6:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Sponsored by Liverpool University Press, publishers of the journal Science Fiction Film and Television, and the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, UCR

Join us for a special presentation by filmmaker Craig Baldwin. He will speak on "Orphan Morphin' " and a free screening of his science fiction found-footage film Spectres of the Spectrum (1999) will follow.

Enabling us to look awry at the history of the 20th century, Baldwin's clever juxtaposition of footage from sf films, newsreels, popular science programs, corporate-produced educational films, and advertising produces a politically charged critique of America. The film simultaneously reveals the complicity of many sf tropes in fantasies of imperialism and — in counterpoint — the radical potential of these same tropes. Set in an apocalyptic future, Spectres of the Spectrum recounts the heroic resistance of TV Tesla against the New Electromagnetic Order, a fight between forces that want to use the spectrum to destroy human imagination and those who use it to open up human possibility. Conspiracy theory, media archaeology, and a chilling depiction of our times, Spectres of the Spectrum promises to leave you with a new understanding of the history of telecommunications and the history of sf.

This lecture and screening is open to registered conference attendees, but space for the screening is limited to 70 people. Tickets to the screening will be available at the conference registration desk starting Thursday, April 11, 2013. 

Awards Banquet

Saturday, April 13, 5:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

Awards Banquet (Online Only) Registration

The Awards Banquet is a separate, ticketed ($50) event at which the following awards will be presented:
Student Science Fiction Short Story Competition Awards
Mary Kay Bray Award
SFRA Graduate Student Paper Award
Pioneer Award
Pilgrim Award
J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction to
Ray Harryhausen
Stan Lee
Ursula K. Le Guin

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

UC Riverside Special Collections Rivera Library, Fourth Floor
322 Tomas Rivera Library

Tel: (951) 827-3233

Related Links