University of California, Riverside

Eaton Science Fiction Conference

The Eaton Awards

 The Eaton Awards

2012 and 2013 J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction

Award-winning author Ursula K. Le Guin, producer and special effects creator Ray Harryhausen and Spider-Man co-creator Stan Lee will be recognized with the J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction at the University of California, Riverside's Eaton Science Fiction Conference on Saturday April 13, 2013.

For tickets to the Awards Banquet and more additional information please see Related Events.

Ursula K. Le Guin Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award Winner 2012Le Guin

Le Guin, will receive the Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award for 2012, has written 20 science fiction and fantasy novels, among them The Left Hand of Darkness and The Dispossessed, each of which won Hugo and Nebula awards. She is the author of many short stories, six volumes of poetry, 13 books for children, as well as criticisms, collections of essays and screenplays.

Conference organizers decided to present two awards for 2013 "to honor both science fiction film culture and science fiction comic book culture, which we felt deserved to be recognized separately," said Melissa Conway, head of Special Collections and Archives of the UCR Libraries.

Ray Harryhausen Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award 2013Harryhausen

Harryhausen, who created a type of stop-motion model animation known as Dynamation, will receive the award for his groundbreaking contributions to science fiction film. Among his best-known productions are Mighty Joe Young, for which the RKO team won an Oscar for special effects in 1949; The 7th Voyage of Sinbad and Jason and the Argonauts, which included a swordfight against skeleton warriors.

Stan Lee Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award 2013Lee

Lee, former president of Marvel Comics, also will be recognized with the award for 2013 for his various contributions in the realm of comic books. Lee, who began as a comic-book writer at age 19, moved on to become editor, producer, publisher, and president and chairman of Marvel Comics. The co-creator of Spider-Man, The Hulk, The X-Men, The Fantastic Four, Iron Man, Thor and other superheroes is also being recognized for his successful challenge to the Comics Code Authority.

The J. Lloyd Eaton Lifetime Achievement Award in Science Fiction is awarded to those who have made contributions of lasting significance to the field.


  • 2008 Ray Bradbury
  • 2009 Frederik Pohl
  • 2010 Samuel R. Delany
  • 2011 Harlan Ellison

More Information 

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Department Information

UC Riverside Special Collections Rivera Library, Fourth Floor
322 Tomas Rivera Library

Tel: (951) 827-3233

Related Links